In the Canary Islands a hire car earns its keep where no bus goes: the Teide, the island interiors, the volcanoes. On 6 October 2026 the German motoring club ADAC showed starting prices for a small car from €14.46 a day (Lanzarote) to €17.17 (Tenerife), or €101.21 to €120.18 a week, with no rental dates shown. The main trap is in the contract, not the price: with some firms the car is valid only on the island where you pick it up, standard insurance excludes wheels, underside, glass and interior, and unpaved tracks are not covered. Here is what to check before paying.
The essentials before you book (as of 6 October 2026)
This text covers Tenerife, Gran Canaria, Lanzarote and Fuerteventura, the four islands whose price pages we read. Which island suits you is the subject of Which Canary Island to choose. Here is what to know before booking:
- From €14.46 a day for a small car on Lanzarote and Fuerteventura, €17.17 on Tenerife; a week from €101.21 to €120.18 (ADAC, no rental dates shown).
- 15 to 20% advance payment at Localrent, the rest at pick-up; the island pages quote deposits of roughly €200 to €500.
- Insurance: wheels, underside, glass and interior are not covered, and only paved public roads are allowed.
- Ferry: the rental company decides whether the car may change island.
- New in 2026: hire-car rules at the Teide, in Masca and at Punta de Teno.
Every figure comes from pages we read on 6 October 2026. Prices move daily: read them as a dated reading, not as an offer.
What a hire car costs in the Canary Islands
On 6 October 2026 at 04:48, ADAC showed for several destinations the lowest starting price for a small car, with no rental dates.
| Destination | 7 days from | Per day |
|---|---|---|
| Lanzarote, Fuerteventura | €101.21 | €14.46 |
| Gran Canaria | €114.95 | €16.42 |
| Tenerife | €120.18 | €17.17 |
| Crete | €158.57 | €22.65 |
| Mallorca | €252.90 | €36.13 |
A week in a small car on Mallorca cost 252.90 − 120.18 = €132.72 more than on Tenerife. Does that make the Canaries one of the cheapest destinations in Europe? We cannot prove it: we found no source that compares Europe as a whole. What is established is this comparison on a single site.
The “from” price is a floor. ADAC itself writes on its Tenerife page that a small car costs around €30 a day in the low season, and the entry price there runs from €17.17 (Avis) to €29.84 (Sixt) depending on the firm: 29.84 − 17.17 = €12.67 a day, €88.69 over a week.
Localrent’s monthly tables do not say what they measure. On Tenerife they run from €30 (September, October) to €42 (February, December), on Gran Canaria from €10 to €29; the text of the same pages says “from €15-19” (Gran Canaria, low season) and “from €10” (Lanzarote). Read them as a hint about the season, not as a price list.
Fuel is cheaper in the Canaries. According to the Spanish ministry’s Geoportal Gasolineras (via PitMove, 6 October 2026), petrol 95 costs €1.551 a litre on average against €1.795 in Spain, diesel €1.704 against €1.900. Over 50 litres that is 0.244 × 50 = €12.20 less for petrol.
Local firms, Cicar or the big brands: what the pages show
Localrent is not a rental company but a platform that lists the offers of local firms; for the condition or quality of a car, its terms send you to the rental company, whose contact details you receive after booking. Alongside it there is Cicar, a firm with its own fleet in the Canaries, and the big brands that ADAC compares.
| Point | Local firms via Localrent | Cicar | Big brands (ADAC) |
|---|---|---|---|
| Deposit | Island pages: roughly €200 to €500 | No amount read; fuel deposit | Not stated |
| Insurance | Basic cover (Fuerteventura page); wheels, underside, glass, interior excluded | Full risk, no excess | “Rundum-Sorglos”, no excess |
| Minimum age | Mostly 22 to 25 | 21, two years of licence | Not stated |
| Cancellation | Free up to 7 days before, 6% kept | No extra charge, per the page | Free until pick-up |
Can you trust Localrent? On Trustpilot the platform stands on 6 October 2026 at 4.6 out of 5 with 5,320 reviews: 86% five-star, 5% one-star, 790 reviews in the last twelve months. The criticism concerns an insurance dispute after an accident (one customer cites more than €300 paid for cover refused under a negligence clause) and details such as worn wiper blades. The score Localrent displays itself (4.8 out of 5) counts for less.
The local offers for your dates sit side by side in the comparison of local rental firms in the Canary Islands; you sort by price and filter by insurance and deposit.
Deposit, insurance and fuel rule: the lines that count
This is what Localrent’s terms for Spain say; each car’s page may differ:
- Standard insurance: does not cover damage to wheels, undercarriage, windscreen and interior; it does not apply to intentional damage or negligence.
- Accident: notify the rental agent at once and obtain a police report, otherwise cover is cancelled.
- Roads: paved public roads only; on unpaved roads the insurance is not valid.
- Fuel: same level as at pick-up; less and you pay the difference at the rental company’s rates.
- 24-hour minimum: Monday morning to Tuesday afternoon is charged as two full days.
Work out the advance payment before you click. For a week at €120.18 (ADAC, Tenerife, as an illustration), 15 to 20% is €18.03 to €24.04; the balance of €102.15 to €96.14 is due at pick-up. If you cancel in time, 6% of the amount paid is kept for the payment service, that is €1.08 to €1.44. Depending on the car, the rental company may require a physical embossed credit card in the main driver’s name.
Ferries and island-hopping: can a hire car change island?

The answer is in the contract, not in the price. According to ADAC, with some rental companies the driving permission is valid only for the island of hire; others allow ferry trips and insure them as long as the car returns, but ask you to register the crossing locally; others forbid it. Localrent’s terms say nothing about ferries. According to DiscoverCars, standard protection can pause on board, and a “ferry fee” charged by the rental company is only the permission, separate from the shipping line’s ticket.
This is what Fred. Olsen Express says (pages read on 6 October 2026):
- Playa Blanca (Lanzarote) – Corralejo (Fuerteventura): 25 minutes by fast ferry or 35, up to 12 departures a day; only the Bocayna Express carries vehicles.
- Agaete (Gran Canaria) – Santa Cruz de Tenerife: 80 minutes, up to 8 departures a day, car accepted.
- Los Cristianos (Tenerife) – San Sebastián de La Gomera: 50 minutes, up to 5 departures a day, car accepted.
When booking you give the make, model and registration; for a hire car whose details you do not yet have, Fred. Olsen says to enter “Hire” and “0000XXX”, then send the real details no later than one hour before departure. Ticket prices for non-residents are not on the pages we read, so we quote none.
Full guide: Things to Do in Gran Canaria: What to Book, What's Free
The simple alternative: one car per island, each collected at the airport. To combine Lanzarote and Fuerteventura, see Fuerteventura or Lanzarote.
Teide, Masca, Punta de Teno: roads with their own rules

On Tenerife the rules are moving in 2026 exactly where the car is most useful. Everything below is dated; check it before you set off.
Teide. The TF-24 and TF-21 access roads were closed on 3 March 2026 because of ice and reopened on 5 March (Diario de Avisos). The Cabildo announced on 7 May 2026, for the end of 2026, an access control at the main entrances: 500 parking places by reservation, and hire cars are expected to reserve a place and pay an ecotax, “currently under study”. Whether that was already in force on 6 October we did not find. To walk down the Masca ravine you need a reservation in advance and must take Titsa bus 355 from Santiago del Teide; the hire car stays in the cemetery car park there (source: caminobarrancodemasca.com). More routes: one week in Tenerife.

Masca. Since 30 July 2026, during a fire alert, the Cabildo controls the TF-436 every day from 9 a.m. to 4 p.m.; visitor vehicles with a purely tourist purpose, hire cars included, are not let in. The control was lifted on 9 August 2026 when the alert fell to pre-alert, and it returns with the next alert; we found nothing more recent.
Punta de Teno. Since 19 January 2026, because of works on the TF-445, private vehicles, pedestrians and cyclists are banned until the works end (Buenavista del Norte council); bus line 369 leaves from Buenavista del Norte, about 20 minutes, €1.
Timanfaya, wind and tracks: where the car stops

At Timanfaya the car is for getting there, not for going in: according to the operator’s page (Cabildo de Lanzarote, read on 6 October 2026), exploring the park freely by car or on foot is not permitted; the Ruta de los Volcanes runs by coach from the Islote de Hilario, where parking is free. The ticket costs €30 for an adult and €15 for a child aged 7 to 12, free under 7, for a booked time slot: two adults and a child pay 30 + 30 + 15 = €75. More on the island in Lanzarote in 5 days.
Wind. Localrent’s Lanzarote page warns of sudden gusts between the lava fields (“Viento transversal”); petrol stations are rare in the north, so fill up in Arrecife or Puerto del Carmen.

Tracks. For Cofete beach on Fuerteventura two travel guides (fuerteventura.es, explore-canaries.com) describe 18 to 20 kilometres of unpaved track from Morro Jable. Localrent allows its cars on paved public roads only and writes that the insurance is not valid on unpaved roads. Our deduction, not a sentence from Localrent: damage on this track would be your responsibility. Ask the rental company in writing before you go.
Pick-up, documents and booking early
On Tenerife many people collect the car at the South airport, which Localrent describes as the main hub for international flights; ADAC lists South (Reina Sofía) and North (Los Rodeos). Which side of the island suits your accommodation is covered in Tenerife north or south.
Documents. You need a valid national licence in Latin script (expiry not before the end of the rental; no copies, no electronic licences), a passport and a phone reachable during the rental and on the day before pick-up. For an airport pick-up, give your flight number so the rental company knows about a delay.
Why book early? According to Localrent’s Gran Canaria page, the price of an order does not rise after booking (a claim by the platform, not a measurement); under the terms, cancellation is free up to 7 days before the start of the rental. Each listing shows the price per day and for the whole period, and the voucher with the rental company’s contact details arrives by e-mail after the advance payment. The offers with airport pick-up show what is free for your dates.
The traps and the checklist before you pay
- The “from” price is a floor: ADAC itself quotes around €30 a day in the low season on Tenerife.
- The island border: a ferry only with the rental company’s permission, ideally in writing.
- Mileage: the Lanzarote page often quotes 300 km a day; check the mileage line.
- Photos: Localrent advises having every damage marked on the handover diagram, photographing the inside and outside and keeping a copy of the contract.
Before paying, these lines should be right: deposit and how it is held, the insurance line, a return time matching the pick-up time, minimum age, ferry permission and the cancellation deadline. If everything checks out, you can open the offer for your dates.



